The Ride of My Life Blog & Podcast
The Ride of My Life Podcast
The Ride of My Life - Poem Talks - On Being Nice
0:00
-18:30

The Ride of My Life - Poem Talks - On Being Nice

You must be nice, they use to say,

The truth of me began to fall away,

When I was just a little girl,

I was taught to be nice and later this unfurled.

There was a time when my answer was “yes,”

All the time and can you guess,

What that did to me, it became a fight,

Inside of me for what was right.

It is ok, just to be nice,

Unless it puts your soul in a vice,

As little girls that’s how we were taught to be,

I can tell you this, that isn’t always me.

And it really shouldn’t be that way,

When we are nice to everyone, every day,

What about those that break our hearts,

Or treat us like we are carts.

Pushing us around each and every day,

We are stronger than that, not to let what you were told get in the way,

The shoulds have destroyed our very being,

And it’s time to look inside and begin seeing,

That it’s ok to say the word no,

Don’t worry about where that will go.

The challenge, I’ve found, is living with loss,

Like if I say no, that is the cost,

I will lose everyone that I hold dear,

But that is nothing but a fear.

That I’ve not been good enough to stand on my own,

And now there is something I’m being shown,

The showing is not out there, I find,

Because out there is where I’m left behind.

What I am seeing is something deep inside,

The truth of me, where my entire life I have had to hide,

Who am I in there? I’m finding is not so mild,

My inner beauty is something quite wild.

And in society, the powers that be,

Told me over again, they didn’t want to see,

The wild, I am, this child, indeed,

Was painfully made, to this, agreed,

With what they wanted and not who I am,

This isn’t right, it’s just a scam.

Why is it, then, I cannot just be me,

And live my beauty so others will see,

That I am who I am and no other, it’s true,

Who I’ve been as I withdrew…

Into desperately knowing there was something else,

And in fighting myself, oh, what a mess,

To this point in my life where it is time to take flight,

And show myself that I am right,

About the person that I be,

That wild woman is being set free!

On Being Nice is a recognition of truth for me and how I tried to keep people in my life, no matter how I was treated because I loved them. I didn't want them to leave because of my fear of being alone. I struggle through this for many years and realized that, as women, we are taught to put everyone else first. This completely diminished my sense of self to the point where I was lost and stuck. I share my thoughts of what being nice was for me. I also shared a couple of tools to help calm the nervous system - hands on heart and breathing and also bilateral stimulation through tapping on your shoulders. As well, I shared a book that really helped me out called, "The Good Girl Jail, When You Dare to Live from Your True Self" by Sandra Felt.

The journey continues...

If you resonate with what I am sharing, I can help in different ways with healers or those on their journey who are wanting to dig deeper. Reach out and let me know how I can be of service and/or if you are so inclined, love offerings are accepted so I can continue this journey to share HOPE and Divine Mama Energy Healing, Guidance/Coaching and Love.

I also now have my Inner PEACE Oracle Reading where I use my poems to create a safe space with a peak inside to what your Higher Self is saying to you. Our Higher Self speaks to us all the time. Sometimes we don't know how to listen and sometimes we are afraid to listen. I hold this space of safety so you can connect with your Higher Self to see where you are in this moment so it can assist you in finding direction.

Website

LinkTree

#carolinerena #therideofmylife #healingjourney #deephealing #courage #mindshift #personalgrowthjourney #healyourself #truth #love #developmentaltrauma #heartresonance #spiritualjourney #travelnomad #thepowerofpeace #innerpeacematters #innerpeaceoracle #harmoniconenesspeaceexpansion #hope #highlysensitiveperson #hsp #poetry #poemtalks #onbeingnice

Love Offering

Share The Ride of My Life Blog & Podcast

0 Comments
The Ride of My Life Blog & Podcast
The Ride of My Life Podcast
Welcome to The Ride of My Life Podcast! I’m Caroline Rena, and I share my experiences as I work through the emotions and challenges on my healing journey to Inner Peace, through the mind, body and spirit. As I develop my awareness and connect with my truth, I hope to provide insight to your journey as well.